From Restriction to Freedom: GTA’s Open World Evolution Series

The Grand Theft Auto series is known for its open-ended gameplay and freedom of movement. Players take on the role of a criminal and engage in activities such as stealing, completing missions, and committing crimes.

The series has been criticized for its violent content and adult themes. The games are rated “Mature” (17+) by the ESRB and PEGI rating systems, and it’s not suitable for children.

GTA Series

1. Grand Theft Auto – GTA (1997)

The first game in the series was released for the PlayStation and later for the PC. The game takes place in the fictional Liberty City, based on New York City, and players take on the role of a criminal named Claude who is trying to escape the city after being betrayed by his girlfriend.

2. GTA 2 (1999)

This game is set in a fictional city called Anywhere City, and players take on the role of a small-time criminal trying to work his way up the ranks. The game introduced multiple gangs that the player could choose to work for.

3. GTA III (2001)

The third game in the series marked a significant departure from the first two games, as it switched to a 3D game world and an open-world format. The game takes place in Liberty City and players take on the role of a criminal named Claude who is trying to establish himself in the criminal underworld.

4. GTA: Vice City (2002)

Set in the fictional Vice City, which is based on Miami, Florida in the 1980s. The game follows Tommy Vercetti, a mobster who is sent to Vice City by his boss after a failed drug deal. The player is in charge of building Tommy’s criminal empire.

5. GTA: San Andreas (2004)

Set in the fictional state of San Andreas, which is based on California and Nevada. The game follows Carl “CJ” Johnson, a gang member who returns home to Los Santos after his mother is killed, and the player will be in charge of rebuilding CJ’s gang, the Grove Street Families.

6. GTA IV (2008)

This game is set in Liberty City, like the first game and third game, but it is a new version of the city. The game follows the story of a new protagonist, Niko Bellic is an Eastern European immigrant trying to pursue the American Dream in Liberty City.

7. GTA V (2013)

set in the fictional city of Los Santos, based on Los Angeles. The game follows three playable characters: Michael De Santa, Franklin Clinton, and Trevor Philips. The game world is larger than the previous games, with more side-quests and activities to do.

8. GTA Online (2013)

A separate game that is included with Grand Theft Auto V, This game is a massively multiplayer online game set in the same world as Grand Theft Auto V, players can compete with or against each other in various activities, and it receives regular updates with new contents such as missions, vehicles and weapons.

Rockstar Games has released many spin-offs and expansions to the Grand Theft Auto series.